The New Jersey Association of School Social Workers (NJASSW) was founded in 1947 to promote the professional growth of New Jersey’s School Social Workers.

School Social Workers provide unique services to students and their families to help students attain maximum benefits from their educational programs.The School Social Workers’ knowledge of social, emotional, cultural, and economic differences among children and families enable School Social Workers to be the link between home, school, and community.

School Social Workers serve various roles in both the public and private school sectors, and all School Social Workers benefit from the support of our association. Some School Social Workers work with other members of the Child Study Team to ensure delivery of Special Education services to eligible children and encourage parents to be involved in IEP Team decisions. Others provide school based interventions through the Whole School Reform programs. Still others work as interventionists, counselors, or transition specialists. Yet we share the commonality of serving students and their families through the school setting.

As members of the educational teams, School Social Workers promote and support students’ academic and social/emotional well-being. New Jersey’s School Social Workers have been effective change agents for educational improvement since 1926 and the New Jersey Association of School Social Workers continues to be dedicated to serving the student, family, and school community. Our Association provides workshops to keep School Social Workers in the forefront of educational, legal, ethical, and clinical developments and offer Professional Development hours, as well as CEUs toward state licensure. 

The NJASSW is affiliated with NJEA and NASW

Current Board of Directors 

  • June Simmons, President
  • Natercia Rendeiro, Director of membership
  • JoAnn Jackson, Director of communications
  • Donna Davis, Director of community relations
  • Dawn DiNardo-Lippi, Director of programs
  • Margo Siroty, Director of editing
  • Dawn R. Clarke, Director of policy and research
  • Sabrina Meyers, Director at large

Pin It on Pinterest